The SAW Video board of directors consists of 3-12 members, each elected for three-year terms. Elections are held annually at the members’ annual general meeting. Board members may serve consecutive terms but must stand for re-election by the membership.

Board Member Profiles

Jacques Ménard

Jacques Ménard, Chair

Independent producer and director of documentary films for many years, Jacques Ménard was also a producer and Deputy Head of French Program (Documentary) at the National Film Board of Canada (1995-

Jith Paul

Jith Paul, Vice Chair

Jith Paul is a producer, director, cinematographer and editor of several award-winning short films, documentaries and music videos.

Manuel Sousa

Manuel Sousa, Treasurer

Manuel Sousa is an administrative professional living in Ottawa.

Renuka Bauri

Renuka Bauri, Secretary

Renuka Bauri is the Director of Communications and Advocacy for Canadian Artists Representation / Front des artistes canadiens (CARFAC National).

Andrew Hall

Andrew Hall

Andrew Hall recently spent 15 years as a corporate videographer and writer for the Bank of Canada.

Sonia Vani

Sonia Vani

Sonia Giannina Vani, B.A., B.Ed, M.A., is an artist and communications consultant.

Byron Pascoe

Byron Pascoe

Byron practices law at Ottawa’s entertainment law boutique, Edwards PC, Creative Law ( helping creators of animated and live-action televisi

Chris Mullington

Chris Mullington

Chris Mullington first joined SAW Video in 1982. During the rest of that decade he was one of the co-op’s most active members and was on the board of directors for several years.

Krzysztof Szychowski

Krzysztof Szychowski

Musician, composer and filmmaker Krzysztof Szychowski is an independent creative spirit and a stalwart supporter of the art of others.

Pavel Pavlov

Pavel Pavlov

Pavel Pavlov holds an interdisciplinary Ph.D. in art history and visual art from Université Laval and is carrying out post-doctoral studies at McGill University.

Sifiso Nobela

Sifiso Nkosinathi Nobela

Sifiso holds an international diploma in film direction from Center for Research in Art of Film and Television in India.

Board Committees

Board committees are comprised of board members, staff, general members, and sometimes also non-members with a particular interest or expertise. Committees report to the SAW Video board of directors. Members of SAW Video are encouraged to contribute to the livelihood of the organization through active participation in committees.


The communications committee guides the centre on marketing, promotions and member communications.


The human resources committee makes policy recommendations about human resources and personnel matters.


The outreach committee strives to research, create, initiate and coordinate outreach in SAW Video’ community and the video/media arts community at large.


The equipment committee identifies equipment priorities and makes recommendations about technology directions, acquisitions, and policy related to members’ access.


The programming committee makes recommendations about the organization’s artistic programming calendar and actively supports programming initiatives. It also sometimes participates in the artist selection process for initiatives such as commissioning programs, members’ screenings, and SAW Video’s annual recommendations to the Ontario Arts Council for its Exhibition Assistance grant program.


The workshop committee makes recommendations about the organization’s workshop programming.


The fundraising committee makes recommendations about annual fundraising strategies and actively participates in fundraising initiatives.


The video archiving/preservation committee makes recommendations to ensure the maintenance of SAW Video’s media archives and the preservation of artists’ work.