A propos
 
Le jeudi 23 juillet, de 18 h à 23 h
Cour extérieure de SAW, 67 rue Nicholas
Entrée libre
 
Pique-nique et projection estivale de SAW Vidéo
Une présentation en partenariat avec la radio communautaire CHUO 89.1 FM et la ZAC du centre-ville Rideau.
 
 
Programme
18h : Pique-nique sonique avec le duo DJ Skid Vicious.
20h : Faire de l’art à l’heure de l’internet – Un entretien avec Lorna Mills (Toronto) et Matthew Williamson (Ottawa), animé par Anna Khimasia (Ottawa).
21h : Ways of Something – Projection des épisodes 1, 2 et 3.
 
 
Lorna Mills - Ways of Something (2014)
- Texte de Anna Khimasia
 
En 1972, le critique d’art et écrivain britannique John Berger a produit avec la BBC une série télévisée en quatre parties intitulée Ways of Seeing. Cette production télévisuelle emblématique constitue une analyse et une critique les modes de représentation et fait valoir qu’une idéologie se cache toujours derrière les images que l’on a l’habitude de voir et de reproduire. Or, dans le contexte du XXIe siècle, le discours de Berger est-il toujours pertinent ?
 
L’artiste canadienne Lorna Mills a créé un remake en quatre parties de l’émission de Berger, intitulé Ways of Something. Tout en conservant la narration originale et la voix de Berger, Mills a invité plus de 110 artistes du Canada et d’ailleurs à créer un segment d’une minute pour son remake. Combinant vidéo, images en 3D, GIF animés, webcams en direct et images modifiées par ordinateur, ainsi que de nombreuses références au XXIe siècle, Ways of Something est un collage multi-strates et multi-générationnel à l’image de notre monde : un monde saturé d’images de tous sortes.
 
Conçue pour répondre à une commande du programme The One Minutes du Sandberg Instituut à Amsterdam, cette série offre une véritable cacophonie d’idées, puisque Mills a « invité les artistes à compléter ou à s’opposer au matériel proposé.» [1] Chaque épisode d’une demi-heure nous invite à questionner non seulement la relation entre le texte de Berger et les images présentées, mais aussi le rôle de la technologie et le nouveau statut qu’acquièrent les images générées et modifiées par ordinateur. Comme Berger l’affirmait en 1972, « Quand l’appareil photo reproduit un tableau, il détruit l’unicité de son contenu. Il en résulte également un changement de signification. Ou, plus exactement, la signification du tableau se démultiplie, se fragmente en de nombreuses significations. » [2] La structure fragmentaire de Ways of Something non seulement met en évidence cette multiplicité, mais elle nous invite aussi à reconsidérer la façon dont les images, à l’ère numérique, sont créés et reproduites, et comment elles continuent à faire sens.
 
[1] “Online Premiere: ‘Ways of Something’ and the Female Nude,” Hopes and Fears, 20 juin 2015, http://www.hopesandfears.com/hopes/culture/ art/168423-premiere-ways-of-something.
[2] John Berger, Ways of Seeing (London: British Broadcasting Corporation et Penguin Books, 1972), p. 19.  
 
 
Ways of Something. Premier épisode. Minute 18. par Eva Papamargariti. 
 
 
Artistes participant à Ways of Something :
 
Premier épisode, Minute 1 – 30
Daniel Temkin, Rollin Leonard, Sara Ludy, Rhett Jones, Jaakko Pallasvuo, Dafna Ganani, Jennifer Chan, Rea McNamara, Theodore Darst, Matthew Williamson, Hector Llanquin, Christina Entcheva, V5MT, Marisa Olson, Joe McKay, Carla Gannis, Nicholas O'Brien, Eva Papamargariti, Rosa Menkman, Kristin Lucas, Jeremy Bailey & Kristen D. Schaffer, Giselle Zatonyl, Paul Wong, Alfredo Salazar-Caro, Sally McKay, RM Vaughan & Keith Cole & Jared Mitchell, Andrew Benson, Christian Petersen, Faith Holland, Jennifer McMackon
 
Deuxième épisode, Minute 1 - 28
Kevin Heckart, Geraldine Juárez, Gaby Cepeda, Angela Washko, Emilie Gervais, LaTurbo Avedon, Lyla Rye, Mattie Hillock, Antonio Roberts, Georges Jacotey, Daniel Rourke, Sandra Rechico & Annie Onyi Cheung, Yoshi Sodeoka, Alma Alloro, LoVid, Andrea Crespo, Ad Minoliti, Arjun Ram Srivatsa, Carrie Gates, Isabella Streffen, Esteban Ottaso, Silke Zil Kuhar ZIL & ZOY, Hyo Myoung Kim, Jesse Darling, Tristan Stevens, Erica Lapadat-Janzen, Claudia Hart, Anthony Antonellis
 
Troisième épisode, Minute 1 - 27
Carine Santi-Weil, Nicolas Sassoon, Tom Sherman, Kim Asendorf and Ole Fach, Rafaela Kino, Alex McLeod, Kate Wilson & Lynne Slater, Aleksandra Domanović, Systaime, Erik Zepka, Adam Ferriss, Rodell Warner and Arnaldo James, Debora Delmar Corp., Brenna Murphy, Nick Briz, Carlos Sáez, Jenn E Norton, Juliette Bonneviot, Luis Nava, Vince McKelvie, Claudia Maté, Evan Roth, Shana Moulton, Sabrina Ratté, Jordan Tannahill, Vasily Zaitsev feat. MON3Y.us, Ann Hirsch
 
 
Conversation : Faire de l’art à l’heure de l’internet
 
À propos des artistes
Depuis le début des années 1990, l’artiste canadienne Lorna Mills a présenté son travail dans le cadre de nombreuses expositions solo ou collectives, et ce tant au Canada qu’à l'étranger. Sa pratique consiste à explorer de manière obsessive l’impression Ilfochrome, la peinture, le film super 8 et la vidéo, ainsi que la création de GIF animés en ligne puis intégrés dans des installations restreintes en dehors de l’internet.
À titre de commissaire, elle a organisé des projections mensuelles de GIF animés dans le cadre de la série « Sheroes » à Toronto, elle a conçu avec Anthony Antonellis un programme de GIF animés, « When Analog Was Periodical », présenté à Berlin, et elle a créé avec Sara Ludy, Nicolas Sassoon et Rick Silva une installation GIF présentée au centre Trinity Square Video à Toronto.
Lorna Mills est représentée par Transfer Gallery à Brooklyn, New York.
 
L’artiste multimédia Matthew Williamson a présenté ses œuvres dans le cadre de nombreuses expositions et projections vidéo à travers le monde, notamment à Moscou, New York, Jakarta, Londres, Toronto, Seattle et Shanghai. Il a récemment été mentionné comme « artiste à suivre » sur le site tumblr.com. 
 
Anna Khimasia a récemment obtenu son doctorat de l’Institut des études comparées des littératures, des arts et de la culture de l’Université Carleton. Sa thèse portait sur les croisements entre autofiction, archives de performances et performativité dans l’œuvre de l’artiste française contemporaine Sophie Calle. Khimasia est chargée de cours à l’Université Carleton depuis 2008.

 

        


Website © 2014 SAW Video Association
Centre d'art médiatique SAW Video
67, rue Nicholas, Ottawa (Ontario) K1N 7B9 Canada
t 613-238-7648
e sawvideo@sawvideo.com

About
 
Thursday, July 23rd, 6pm-11pm
SAW Outdoor Courtyard, 67 Nicholas Street
Free admission
 
SAW Video Summer Screening and Picnic 
Presented in partnership with CHUO 89.1 FM Community Radio and the Downtown Rideau BIA.
 
Program
6 pm: Sonic Picnic with DJ Skid Vicious
8 pm: Art Making after the Internet – A conversation with media artists Lorna Mills (Toronto) and Matthew Williamson (Ottawa), moderated by independent curator and critic Anna Khimasia (Ottawa)
9 pm: Ways of Something - Screening of Episodes 1, 2 and 3
 
 
Lorna Mills - Ways of Something (2014)
- An Introduction by Anna Khimasia
 
In 1972, British art critic and writer John Berger, along with the BBC, produced a four part television series called Ways of Seeing. This iconic television production questioned and critiqued modes of representation by making more evident the ways in which ideology is embedded in traditional images and their reproductions. However, in the twenty-first century is Berger’s text still relevant? 
 
Canadian artist Lorna Mills has created a four-part remake of Berger’s television show entitled Ways of Something. Retaining Berger’s original narrative and voice over, Mills invited over 110 Canadian and International artists to contribute one- minute segments to her remake. Combining video, 3D renderings, animated gifs, live web cams, and digitally manipulated visuals, along with twenty-first century references, Ways of Something presents a layered, multi-generational collage of our world: a world that is saturated with images of all kinds.
 
Initially commissioned by The One Minutes, at the Sandberg Instituut in Amsterdam this series offers a cacophony of ideas as Mills “encouraged the artists to update or contradict the material.” [1] Each half-hour episode asks us to question not only the relationship between Berger’s text and the visuals shown, but also the role of technology, and the new status of computer generated and manipulated images and spaces. As Berger argued in 1972, “When the camera reproduces a painting, it destroys the uniqueness of its image. As a result its meaning changes. Or, more exactly, its meaning multiplies, fragments into many meanings.” [2] The fragmentary structure of Ways of Something not only highlights this multiplicity, but also asks us to rethink how images in the digital age are created and reproduced, and how they continue to find meanings.
 
[1] “Online Premiere: ‘Ways of Something’ and the Female Nude,” Hopes and Fears, accessed June 20, 2015, http://www.hopesandfears.com/hopes/culture/ art/168423-premiere-ways-of-something.
[2] John Berger, Ways of Seeing (London: British Broadcasting Corporation and Penguin Books, 1972), 19.  
 
 
Ways of Something. Episode 1. Minute 18. by Eva Papamargariti. (still)
 
 
Participating Artists
 
Episode 1, Minute 1 – 30
Daniel Temkin, Rollin Leonard, Sara Ludy, Rhett Jones, Jaakko Pallasvuo, Dafna Ganani, Jennifer Chan, Rea McNamara, Theodore Darst, Matthew Williamson, Hector Llanquin, Christina Entcheva, V5MT, Marisa Olson, Joe McKay, Carla Gannis, Nicholas O'Brien, Eva Papamargariti, Rosa Menkman, Kristin Lucas, Jeremy Bailey & Kristen D. Schaffer, Giselle Zatonyl, Paul Wong, Alfredo Salazar-Caro, Sally McKay, RM Vaughan & Keith Cole & Jared Mitchell, Andrew Benson, Christian Petersen, Faith Holland, Jennifer McMackon
 
Episode 2, Minute 1 - 28
Kevin Heckart, Geraldine Juárez, Gaby Cepeda, Angela Washko, Emilie Gervais, LaTurbo Avedon, Lyla Rye, Mattie Hillock, Antonio Roberts, Georges Jacotey, Daniel Rourke, Sandra Rechico & Annie Onyi Cheung, Yoshi Sodeoka, Alma Alloro, LoVid, Andrea Crespo, Ad Minoliti, Arjun Ram Srivatsa, Carrie Gates, Isabella Streffen, Esteban Ottaso, Silke Zil Kuhar ZIL & ZOY, Hyo Myoung Kim, Jesse Darling, Tristan Stevens, Erica Lapadat-Janzen, Claudia Hart, Anthony Antonellis
 
Episode 3, Minute 1 - 27
Carine Santi-Weil, Nicolas Sassoon, Tom Sherman, Kim Asendorf and Ole Fach, Rafaela Kino, Alex McLeod, Kate Wilson & Lynne Slater, Aleksandra Domanović, Systaime, Erik Zepka, Adam Ferriss, Rodell Warner and Arnaldo James, Debora Delmar Corp., Brenna Murphy, Nick Briz, Carlos Sáez, Jenn E Norton, Juliette Bonneviot, Luis Nava, Vince McKelvie, Claudia Maté, Evan Roth, Shana Moulton, Sabrina Ratté, Jordan Tannahill, Vasily Zaitsev feat. MON3Y.us, Ann Hirsch
 
 
Conversation: Art Making after the Internet
 
Biographies
 
Canadian artist, Lorna Mills has actively exhibited her work in both solo and group exhibitions since the early 1990's, both in Canada and Internationally. Her practice has included obsessive Ilfochrome printing, obsessive painting, obsessive super 8 film & video, and obsessive on-line animated GIFs incorporated into restrained off-line installation work.
She has also co-curated monthly group GIF projections for the “Sheroes” performance series in Toronto, a group GIF projection event “When Analog Was Periodical” in Berlin with Anthony Antonellis, and a four person GIF installation, “:::Zip The Bright:::” at Trinity Square Video in Toronto, with Sara Ludy, Nicolas Sassoon and Rick Silva. 
Lorna Mills is represented by Transfer Gallery in Brooklyn, New York.
 
Matthew Williamson is a media artist whose work has been presented internationally including exhibitions and screenings in Moscow, New York City, Jakarta, London, Toronto, Seattle, and Shanghai. He was recently named an "Artist to Watch" by tumblr.com
 
Anna Khimasia recently received her Ph.D. from the Institute for Comparative Studies in Literature, Art and Culture, Carleton University. Her dissertation considered the intersection of autofiction, performance archives, and performativity in the work of contemporary French artist Sophie Calle. Khimasia has been a Contract Instructor at Carleton University since 2008.
 
             

 


Website © 2014 SAW Video Association
SAW Video Media Art Centre
67 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7B9 Canada
t 613-238-7648
e sawvideo@sawvideo.com