A propos

Le Centre d’art médiatique SAW Video est fier de présenter Résolution, sa projection annuelle mettant en vedette des vidéos produites par ses membres. Les neuf œuvres présentées cette année illustrent l’éventail de techniques artistiques utilisées en 2017 : animation image par image, vidéoclip, documentation de performance, poésie vidéo, film de voyage, film muet, et appareil à sténopé sont au nombre des formes présentées dans cette projection d’une heure. Une brève séance de questions et réponses en présence des artistes se tiendra après la projection.  

La soirée débutera avec une réception lors de laquelle le lauréat du prix Rob Thompson du Centre d’art médiatique SAW Video sera annoncé. Le prix est octroyé tous les deux ans à un membre de notre communauté qui participe activement à la promotion des arts médiatiques à Ottawa tout en faisant preuve d’un engagement exceptionnel envers sa propre pratique.

- - - - -

Programme:

Lola, the Wind [Lola, le vent] – Izabel Barsive

Spectrum [Spectre] – Ramin S. Khanjani

Une vérité toute simple [A Very Simple Truth] – Guillaume Saindon

Emergency Broadcast [Diffusion d’urgence]–Pixie Cram

Now or Neverish : Bonnie Doon [Maintenant ou presque jamais : Bonnie Doon ] –  Lesley Marshall

Personal Performance by Bucko [Performance personnelle de Bucko] – Chris Binkowski

The Art of Morning [L’art du matin] – Nathan Hauch

Ghana [Ghana] –  Galen Kiva

Événement gratuit, ouvert au public de tout âge.

Une réception précédera la projection et une autre suivra. Des rafraîchissements seront servis.

Le 24 février 2018 au Théâtre de la Cour des arts

De 19 h à 19 h 30 — Réception prix Rob Thompson

19 h 30 — Projection de Résolution

20 h 30 — Questions, réponses

De 21 h à 22 h — Réception

Le Programme

Lola, the Wind [Lola, le vent] – Izabel Barsive - 10 min 10 s

C’était moi dans le paysage/ Les éléments m’ont invité à danser/ Je n’ai pas réfléchi, je n’ai que bougé/ C’est tout ce qu’il me fallait

Un appareil à sténopé numérique enregistre une transformation engendrée au moyen de poésie et de chorégraphie improvisée. Mettant en vedette Lola Ryan.

Spectrum [Spectre] – Ramin S. Khanjani - 10 min 39 s

Un citoyen quelconque se réveille d’un rêve charmant et s’aperçoit qu’il peut irrémédiablement voir ce qui a été proscrit. Craignant les conséquences de sa désobéissance, il est cependant incapable de bloquer cette vision interdite...

Une vérité toute simple [A Very Simple Truth] – Guillaume Saindon - 9 min 40 s

Une vérité toute simple juxtapose l’infime et l’immense, des êtres communs et la fatalité pour illustrer l’absurdité de la vie quotidienne.  

Emergency Broadcast [Diffusion d’urgence] – Pixie Cram - 7 min

Conçue et construite secrètement en 1959 à l’apogée de la Guerre froide, le Diefenbunker est une forteresse souterraine de 10 000 m2 (100 000 p2) sur quatre niveaux, capable de résister à une explosion nucléaire de cinq mégatonnes. Pixie Cram s’est inspirée des objets, des salles et des espaces de ce site historique canadien pour créer une animation image par image qui imagine les débuts d’une guerre nucléaire. 

Now or Neverish: Bonnie Doon [Maintenant ou presque jamais] – Lesley Marshall - 3 min

Bonnie Doon est un groupe post-punk ottavien formé de quatre membres. Dans leur vidéoclip pour Now or Neverish [Maintenant ou presque jamais] leur plage sinistre devient spectacle itinérant… 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 !

Personal Performance by Bucko [Performance personnelle de Bucko] – Chris Binkowski - 10 min 48 s

L’artiste, Bucko, est assis dans son fauteuil roulant, seul. Un participant apparait dans l’image et vient s’asseoir en face de Bucko. L’artiste et le sujet sont assis intimement proches l’un de l’autre et se regardent dans les yeux. Bucko contrôle une application iPhone avec un stylet afin de créer de la musique et des sons synthétisés. Bucko improvise diverses musiques en réaction à son sujet. 

The Art of Morning [L’art du matin] – Nathan Hauch - 5 min 41 s

Un regard lyrique sur la façon dont une personne se prépare pour le jour à venir en savourant chaque instant.   

Ghana [Ghana] – Galen Kiva - 5 min 2 s

Le rythme de ce film est ralenti ce qui permet de capter tous les détails du mode de vie ghanéen, des rythmes effrénés et excentriques du tambour et de la danse qui semblent nous suivre partout au pays, au joli spectacle d’enfants jouant en toute innocence. Les images ont été tournées par Galen Kiva lors de son voyage au Ghana en 2017.

death isn’t the same anymore [la mort n’est plus pareille] – Jennifer Mulligan - 5 min 39 s

Œuvre expérimentale complexe, ce poème cinématographique visuel et auditif explore les relations intimes que les humains entretiennent avec leur lit ainsi que l’aspect cyclique de la vie, à partir de la naissance jusqu’à la mort.

 

 


Website © 2014 SAW Video Association
Centre d'art médiatique SAW Video
67, rue Nicholas, Ottawa (Ontario) K1N 7B9 Canada
t 613-238-7648
e sawvideo@sawvideo.com

About

SAW Video Media Art Centre is proud to present its annual Resolution screening, featuring a selection of videos produced by our members in 2017. This year’s line-up of nine works displays the wide scope of artistic practices in which our members are currently engaged: stop-motion animation, music video, performance documentation, video poetry, travelogues, silent films and pinhole cameras are among the diverse forms in this hour-long program. Artists will be in attendance to take part in a brief Q+A with the audience following the screening.

Prior to the screening, a reception will be held to announce the recipient of SAW Video Media Art Centre’s Rob Thompson award. The award, given once every two years, serves to recognize a member in our community who has displayed an exceptional commitment to their own practice and to the growth of media arts in Ottawa.

- - - - -

Screening program:

Lola, the Wind – Izabel Barsive

Spectrum – Ramin S. Khanjani 

Une Verite Toute Simple – Guillaume Saindon

Emergency Broadcast – Pixie Cram

Now or Neverish – Lesley Marshall

Personal Performance – Chris Binkowski

The Art of Morning – Nathan Hauch

Ghana – Galen Kiva

Death Isn’t the Same Anymore – Jennifer Mulligan

 

Admission is Pay What You Can (suggested $5), all ages and open to the public.

Receptions will precede and follow the screening at which refreshments will be served.

February 24th, 2018

@ the Arts Court Theatre

7:00pm – 7:30pm – Rob Thompson Award Reception

7:30pm – Resolution Screening

8:30pm – Q+A

9:00pm – 10:00pm – Reception

 

The Program

Lola, the Wind – Izabel Barsive - 10:10

I was the figure in the landscape / The elements called me to dance / I did not think, I only moved / That was all I needed.

Through poetry and improvised choreography, a transformation is filmed through a digital pinhole camera. Starring Lola Ryan.

Spectrum – Ramin S. Khanjani - 10:39

Waking up from a delightful dream, a nondescript citizen finds himself to be irredeemably able to see what is decreed forbidden. Dreading the outcome of his disobedience, he is yet desperately incapable of blocking this unlawful vision…

Une vérité toute simple – Guillaume Saindon - 9:40

Une Vérité Toute Simple illustrates the absurdity of daily life through the juxtaposition of the minute and the immense, common beings and fatality.

Emergency Broadcast – Pixie Cram - 7:00

Built at the height of the Cold War to withstand a five-megaton nuclear assault, the Diefenbunker is a massive underground, four-storey, 100,000-square-foot fortress designed and constructed entirely in secrecy in 1959. Inspired by the objects, rooms, and spaces of this Canadian Historic Site, Pixie Cram has created a stop-animation film that imagines the beginnings of a nuclear war.

Now or Neverish: Bonnie Doon – Lesley Marshall - 3:00

Bonnie Doon are an Ottawa-based post-punk four-piece. In their music video for Now or Neverish, they take their spooky beach to the road show... 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8!

Personal Performance by Bucko – Chris Binkowski - 10:48

The artist, Bucko, sits alone in his wheelchair. A single participant enters the frame and sits across from Bucko. The artist and subject are seated intimately close together, looking into each others eyes.  Bucko controls an iPhone application with his stylus to create synthesized music and sounds. The music changes as Bucko improvises in reaction to his subject.

The Art of Morning – Nathan Hauch - 05:41

A lyrical look at how one person prepares for the day ahead, savouring each moment.

Ghana – Galen Kiva - 05:02

The tempo of this short film is slowed down in order to capture every single detail of the Ghanaian way of life, from the high-paced, eccentric drumming and dancing that seems to follows you around the country, to the beautiful sight of children playing without a care in the world. Images were taken during Kiva’s trip to Ghana in 2017.

death isn’t the same anymore – Jennifer Mulligan - 05:39

A layered, experimental, visual and auditory cinepoem, which explores the intimate relationship humans have with their beds, and the cyclical nature of life between birth and death.

 


Website © 2014 SAW Video Association
SAW Video Media Art Centre
67 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7B9 Canada
t 613-238-7648
e sawvideo@sawvideo.com